Home from Vacation and a Word About Feeling Underappreciated

We got home from our family vacation safe and sound a few nights ago.  Ahhh, home sweet home!  We had a really fun time, but it was just so nice to be back in Texas and in our own  house with our own beds.  If you are under appreciating your home, a vacation can fix that!

Here are a few pics from our vacation: 🙂

IMG_3773

The girls overlooking the Grand Canyon

IMG_3808

James and me in front of Grand Canyon

 

IMG_3779

James and the older boys in front of Grand Canyon

Speaking of being under appreciated….does anyone ever feel that way besides me?  Sometimes as moms we can feel taken for granted and even invisible at times.  I actually had a moment like this on our vacation.  It seemed I was doing all the work while everyone else was relaxing.  It wasn’t quite true, but I think the work load was a bit lopsided, if you know what I mean!  By the end of that night, I was tired and rather grumpy.  Yes, even on vacation the grumpies can sneak in!

I see now some preventative measures I could’ve taken to avoid this situation.  I should’ve just simply asked for help from my family.  Another and maybe better solution that I could’ve done was set up an expectation ahead of time:  “Tonight, Noah and Steven will clean up the kitchen, tomorrow will be Abby and Zoe, etc.”  It seems kids are always more willing to help when they know in advance that it is expected of them and that the workload is fair.

By the way, the kids really did help on this vacation.  It was just this one night when they got a little too comfortable and let mom do most of the work.  Pretty sure I was very guilty of this when I was a kid!  That’s why we have to teach kids to be helpful.  It doesn’t usually come naturally unless they’re preschoolers, then they seem to always want to help whether it’s helpful or not! 😉  If you have helpful little people in your house, even though their help isn’t perfect, encourage that helpful attitude, praising even the smallest job.  It’s very important to cultivate helpfulness at a young age.

If you do find yourself feeling under appreciated and you, like me, forget to ask for some help, don’t just hold in those negative emotions.  That night, I was thinking back over my day and was trying to figure out why I felt so grumpy.  I realized all the work I had done with little help.  I didn’t want my emotions to get the best of me.  When we bottle up how we feel, it can get worse!  Anger can turn into bitterness and resentment.  I definitely didn’t want to feel this way toward my family.  So, I told my hubby how I was feeling and, being the understanding guy that he is, he listened and realized why I felt that way.  I’m glad I made him aware of my feelings.  Just doing that, made me feel better.  The next day, was better since dad made everyone work a little more so it wasn’t all on mom. 🙂 Vacation resumed its happiness and we moved on to the next adventure!

Some Bible verses come to mind here that can help us when we are feeling overlooked, underappreciated, invisible, or taken for granted.  It’s found in Colossians:

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for man, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.  It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” Colossians 3:23-24

No matter how well we train our kids in helpfulness, there are still going to be times when we find ourselves feeling over worked.  I think it’s just part of being a mom and wife.  That’s when we have to remember we are really serving the Lord through serving our families.  Our kids and even our husbands might not see all we are doing to keep things running smoothly, but our Lord Jesus does!  He is the One we are really serving.   So let’s keep our eyes on Him and remember that His eyes are on us.  We are not invisible!

Blessings,

Joy

 

One thought on “Home from Vacation and a Word About Feeling Underappreciated

  1. Pingback: Halfway Through No Screen Month | JOYfulmomof8

Leave a Reply

